OncologyInformationService
Real World Databases
Evidence based Healthcare and Market Research

Physician – Representative Communication

Sales representatives specialized in oncology still count in all senses among the most valuable sources of information. Oncologists in charge of therapy in particular have high expectations when it comes to the manner of communication and content presented. Then again sales representatives in the field of oncology have a special knowledge regarding their dialog partner and subject area. This know-how should be synergistically utilized in a communications concept.

We thus recommend the participation of your sales representatives in the formation of the communication concept. The content and mode of communication will be reviewed under virtually realistic conditions with the original target group.

METHODS

The selected sales representatives (from different sales areas) conduct the discussion with physicians according to preliminary discussion materials that correspond to the communications concept. Immediately afterwards the O.I.s will interview each physician about the content and mode of the discussion.

The interviews will be assessed immediately afterwards, whereas the results will serve as guidelines for the subsequent group discussion with the physicians (who will be treated to a meal during that time.) During the discussion the relative value of individual opinions will be set and a general correlation established. The group discussions will be audio and video taped.

Participation in a parallel workshop with the sales representatives is optional. During the workshop you will learn about the sales representatives’ experiences with the communications concept. They will respectively report and advise on guidelines regarding optimization of a modified.

Communication with Patients

Even if a communications concept is being adapted “only” for patients and other effected parties, physicians and other trained staff outside of the target group should also be included in the test. The success of a communications concept depends significantly on to what extent physicians and trained staff favor and actively support it.

METHODS

We recommend conducting separate group discussions or respectively carrying out telephone interviews for the individual target groups. Since communication between the groups is not required, the following advantages of telephone interviews – especially with patients -could be utilized:

  • Private sphere of patient remains anonymous. From experience this increases a patient’s willingness to talk
  • Less expensive than face-to-face interviews

The patients will be recruited by treating physicians so that an exact definition of the target group in relation to indicators and/or therapy is possible. The communications concept data (patient brochures, etc.) will be sent.

Contact us to set up a detailed and tailored project!

Arzt-Außendienst-Kommunikation

Der spezialisierte onkologische Außendienst gehört nach wie vor zu den im doppelten Sinne wertvollsten Informationsquellen. Gerade therapiebestimmende Onkologen legen an die Kommunikationsart und -inhalte hohe Maßstäbe. Andererseits verfügen die Mitarbeiter im onkologischen Außendienst über ein spezielles Wissen bzgl. ihrer Gesprächspartner und der Themenbereiche. Dieses Know-How soll in einem Kommunikationskonzept synergistisch verwertet werden.

Wir empfehlen daher die Einbeziehung Ihres Außendienstes bereits in die Entstehung des Kommunikationkonzepts. Die Inhalte und die Form der Kommunikation werden in einer quasi-realistischen Bedingung mit der authentischen Zielgruppe überprüft.

Methode

Die ausgewählten Außendienstmitarbeiter (aus „fremden“ Gebieten) führen mit den Ärzten das Gespräch entsprechend dem Kommunikationskonzept mit den vorläufigen Gesprächsunterlagen. Unmittelbar danach wird jeder einzelne Arzt von O.I.S. zum Inhalt und Form des Gesprächs interviewt.

Die Interviews werden sofort im Anschluß ausgewertet, wobei die Ergebnisse als Leitfaden für die anschließende Gruppendiskussion mit den Ärzten dienen. (Die Ärzte werden in der Zwischenzeit am Buffet bewirtet.) Durch die Diskussion werden die Einzelmeinungen relativiert und in einen generellen Zusammenhang gestellt. Die Grupppendiskussion wird auf Tonband und auf Videoband aufgenommen.

Optional ist die parallele Durchführung eines Workshop mit den Außendienstmitarbeitern, in dem sie über ihre Erfahrungen mit dem Kommunikationskonzept bzw. Leitfaden berichten und Vorschläge zur Optimierung nach einer abgewandelten Metaplan-Methode ausarbeiten.

Kommunikation mit den Patienten

Auch wenn ein Kommunikationskonzept „nur“ für Patienten und andere Betroffenen entworfen wird, sollten in den Test außer diesen Zielgruppen auch die behandelnden Ärzte und Pflegepersonal einbezogen werden. Der Erfolg eines Kommunikationskonzepts hängt im wesentlichen davon ab, in wie weit es von den Ärzten und Pflegepersonal für gut befunden und aktiv unterstützt wird.

Methode

Wir empfehlen die Durchführung von getrennten Gruppendiskussionen bzw. die Durchführung von Telefoninterviews für die einzelnen Zielgruppen. Da keine Interaktion zwischen den Gruppen notwendig ist, können auch die Vorteile der Telefoninterviews insb. bei den Patienten, genutzt werden:

  • Die Intimsphäre der Patienten bleibt gewahrt und die Gesprächsbereitschaft wird erfahrungsgemäß damit erhöht
  • Preiswerter als face-to-face Interviews

Die Patienten werden über die behandelnden Ärzte rekrutiert, damit ist auch eine genaue Definition der Zielgruppe bzgl. Indikation und/oder Therapie möglich. Sie erhalten die Unterlagen zum Kommunikationskonzept (Patientenbroschüren, u.a.) zugeschickt.